Identity

Me.

11947986_10200855164256894_8679778129620513527_o

Let’s start with the facts.

I am a 20 year old cis-gendered female, somewhere-on-the-spectrum heterosexual, white, university student living in London.

Easy… but then again so are so many others.

I am a 20 year old cis-gendered female, somewhere-on-the-spectrum heterosexual, white, university student living in London studying Applied Theatre, vegan, 5″6, blonde, single, sometimes masculine, sometimes feminine, knitting fanatic, babysitter, non-driver,  extroverted, non-religious, English speaking, second born, healthy human being.

So I’ve ticked a few boxes and as far as the legal documents are concerned, they’re happy with that as my identity.

But is it fact that I’m vegan if I have slipped up once or twice? Or is it fact that I’m heterosexual if I occasionally find a female attractive? How I choose to define myself is up to me. Knowing who you are and how others see as who you are two very different things and won’t always match up.

The most important relationship you will ever have is the one you have with yourself.

Forgetting the facts and the box ticking, there is no doubt we are unique and different from everyone else. Our experiences, memories, friends, family, dreams, passions, likes, dislikes, rights, opportunities and choices make us who we are.

There are many layers to us all, layers others see, layers only we can see and layers which no body, not even we will discover.

It’s pretty exciting really, knowing that I will never know everything about myself. I mean, will I ever find out if actually I’m pretty darn talented at trapeze or can communicate with Koala Bears? We’ll see!

Identity is always moving and forever changing, move with it, embrace it and challenge it.

Leave a Reply

